The residents of Perris, like those in other California cities, may from time to time have California lemon law claims involving their new or used vehicles under factory warranty. A Perris lemon law attorney at Neale & Fhima can help. Below is some helpful information about the lemon law of our state.
All states’ lemon laws give consumers a powerful way to enforce a new vehicle warranty. If the auto manufacturer cannot repair a defect that the factory warranty covers, you can get a refund, replacement or some other type of financial remedy.
But the lemon law in California has some unique features. They can make a difference when it comes down to who can file a claim, what you have to prove, and more:
People like to lease cars because they can drive a newer car with fewer repair problems. The good news is that you can qualify for a lemon law claim in this state with a leased vehicle.
The lemon law applies to cars that are covered by the factory warranty. But coverage that is left on the warranty when it is sold to you MAY transfer. The law also applies to an auto manufacturer warranty on a certified pre-owned vehicle. But note that if you buy a used vehicle from a private seller, lemon law protections may not apply. There are some exceptions to this rule; contact Neale & Fhima for more information.
There are many vehicles in California that qualify for coverage under the lemon law: cars, trucks, SUVs, ATVs, motorcycles, boats, campers and jet skis.
The law is intended to protect consumers, but if you use the vehicle for business, you may be covered. It does not matter if you are a sole proprietor, LLC or corporation. Nor does it matter if the vehicle is dual use.
A warranty for a new vehicle is a written contract. Just as any other type of lawsuit for breach of contract, the claim must be filed within four years of the date the written contract was broken.
Whether you are in the middle of arbitration or a lemon law lawsuit, there are several things you can do to boost the odds of winning your case. Without a doubt, consumers armed with ample documentation of their Perris lemon law case will prevail more often than those with no documentation. It is essential to keep all service records and receipts to prove how many times you took your car to the Perris dealership. You also want to be able to prove how many days the car has been in the shop since you acquired it. A bonus is possessing phone records that prove how many times you called the dealership.
As part of our efforts to serve Perris, it is important to our lemon law lawyers to understand the history of the town. Perris, California is a growing community in Riverside County, located approximately 80 miles north of San Diego. The population as of 2010 was 68,000. Many people are moving to Perris because of the sunny and warm climate. This community gets just 10 inches of rain per year, and there are more than 270 sunny days every year.
Perris was named for Fred T. Perris, who was the chief engineer of the California Southern Railroad. That railroad was a vital connection to the cities of Barstow and San Diego in the 1880s. The city turned 100 years old in 2011.
The lemon law in California is tough and protects consumers from unscrupulous auto manufacturers and dealerships. But winning one of these claims on your own is tough. Working with an experienced Perris lemon law attorney at Neale & Fhima will enhance your odds of coming out on top. If one of our attorneys thinks you have a good claim, he will take the case. If you win, the auto manufacturer must pay your legal fees. Please call us now.