Americans spend more than one million days per year in the hospital due to car accidents. There were 3,074 fatal car accidents in California in 2014, and many thousands more injured. A serious vehicle accident can leave you with major personal injuries. Some injuries can require months or years of medical care and rehabilitation. Medical professionals do their best, but you may never be the same. This type of care can cost hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollars. How will you pay?
If your vehicle accident was caused by another driver, you may benefit from filing a personal injury lawsuit.
Neale & Fhima personal injury attorneys in Southern California have represented many vehicle accident victims with serious injuries. These accident injuries can affect your ability to work, study, and enjoy life with your family. Our personal injury attorneys may be able to help you obtain compensation.
Most people do not understand the forces involved in a serious car accident. A 35 mph crash has the same amount of force as an elephant falling off a three-story building. That force is doubled if another vehicle hits you head-on at the same speed. This impact can cause massive trauma. Impact injuries in a car accident can cause these types of serious injuries:
These types of terrible injuries also come with serious mental and emotional trauma that can affect your ability to live a normal life.
California features an ‘at fault’ or ‘tort’ system for auto insurance claims. This means that you must show that the other driver was at fault if you want to collect compensation for your accident injuries.
California is a ‘pure comparative negligence’ state. This means that if the case goes to court, the jury will determine the percentage of fault of each driver in the accident. For instance, if you suffer a $10,000 injury in an accident but are found to be 10% at fault, your compensation in California is limited to $9,000.
Typical damages that you may collect in a car accident with serious injuries in California are:
This state, fortunately, does not have a statutory cap on personal injury and car accident cases. Nonetheless, there are some ‘landmines’ in the law that you should be aware of.
First, note that California has a two-year statute of limitations to file a personal injury claim. Worse, if the driver who injured you was employed by the government at the time of the accident and driving in the course of his duties, the statute of limitations is only six months.
Second, Proposition 213 in this state maintains that, regardless of fault, if a driver has no insurance, they may not recover noneconomic damages in a car accident. This means pain and suffering and emotional trauma.
Car accidents with serious injuries are a matter you should never handle alone. Neale & Fhima is a personal injury law firm serving Southern California, with offices in Los Angeles, Orange County, San Diego and San Francisco. We have collected more than $50 million on behalf of injured car accident victims. Our personal injury lawyers can represent you if you have suffered injuries in a motor vehicle accident. If you need legal advice about a car accident with injuries, please call (888) 407-2955. Or, you can complete the contact form below.